Obtaining a MOT Test: What You Should Know

MOT, which stands for the Ministry of Transport, is an acronym for a yearly test in the UK that is related to a vehicle’s safety and exhaust emissions. This test is required for most of the vehicles over the age of three years that travel the roadways.

When the MOT Test Was Introduced

The MOT test first debuted in 1960 under the Minister of Transport at that time, who was Ernest Maples. Original tests included evaluation of the lights, brakes, and steering. These checks were performed after a vehicle turned ten years of age. As a result, many people called the MOT test at that time a ten-year test or a Ministry of Transport test.

Items That Have Been Added Over the Years

As time progressed, the items that have been checked have increased over the years. For example, a tyre check was included in 1968. By 1977, inspections included tests of the windscreen, wipers and washers, brake lights, directional indicators, body structure, exhaust, and chassis. By 1991, the MOT included emission assessments for petrol engines and evaluations of the anti-lock brakes, rear wheel bearings, rear seat belts, and rear wheel steering, if applicable.

In 1992, a more stringent requirement for tyre depth was mandated for most vehicles. Emissions testing for diesel engines was included in 1994 and 2012 saw the addition of checks for vehicle batteries and wiring, speedometers, secondary restraint systems, and steering locks.

Where You Can Have an MOT Test Performed

Today, if your car is over the age of three, you can obtain an affordable and cheap MOT in Leicester through a reliable mechanic. Today, the testing is pretty all-inclusive and includes checks of the car’s body, structure, fuel system, and exhaust and emission system. Seat belts, seats, doors, mirrors, load security, brakes, and tyres are also inspected. The registration plates, lights, bonnet, and wipers and washers are included in the overall evaluation as well.

Watching an Inspection

Technicians also check the windscreen, horn, steering, and suspension and record the VIN, or vehicle identification number. So, you can be assured that your vehicle will be reviewed over its entire length. When an MOT test is conducted then, all the major parts of your vehicle are assessed in order to make sure that they meet legal operational standards. Whilst car or truck owners may watch the test being performed, they are not permitted to disrupt or interrupt the tester’s activities.

The current test does not include checking the condition of the clutch, engine, or gearbox. Motorcycles must also have an MOT test performed. In this case, the parts that are tested include the steering system, wheels and tyres, footrest, frame, drive chain and sprocket, exhaust, wheel alignment, registration plates, sidecar (if it is fitted, and the seat). The fuel system, horn, clutch lever, frame number, throttle, and lights are also assessed.

If anything needs to be repaired or fixed, it can be scheduled after the assessment is made. Whilst it may be an involved process, it also ensures the continued reliability and safety of your vehicle on the roadway.


Leave a Reply